The screen lock on the smartphone is important and valuable so that nobody can access your data without authorization. But what to do if you’ve forgotten your code? If you’ve forgotten the PIN for your SIM card, it shouldn’t be a problem – because the PUK is there for such cases. This is the “Personal Unblocking Key,” your unblocking key. You can usually find this in your contract documents or on the plastic card from which you removed your SIM card. If you enter the PIN incorrectly three times, the PUK will be used. If you have also lost your PUK, you have to contact your provider.
Most Android smartphones offer a security question for such cases, which you can set when entering the code. This can be, for example, your mother’s maiden name or the name of your pet – but be careful: friends or acquaintances can quickly answer some questions!
If you enter the screen lock incorrectly several times, you can answer the security question and reset the code. Some smartphones also offer the option to authenticate using your Google account. This is also applicable on how to you unlock LG stylo 4 MetroPCS
However, this option does not exist with the iPhone – you even have to be careful because depending on the setting, the smartphone’s content will be deleted after ten incorrect entries.
Lock important anyway
Even if you can forget a PIN or a screen lock, you must use it to secure your smartphone. In any case, regular backups are mandatory to keep the damage within limits.
If nothing helps, you have to reset your smartphone. The screen lock is also reset.
There are three ways to do this on the iPhone:
Connect the iPhone to the computer and reset the device via iTunes.
If you use the iCloud and have “Find My iPhone” activated, you can reset it via the iCloud.
If you don’t use iTunes or iCloud, you can still reset your iPhone on your computer using iTunes. Then you force a restart by pressing and holding the standby and home buttons at the same time and only releasing them when the maintenance symbol is displayed.
With Android smartphones, you first have to switch off your smartphone to start the reset and then switch it again while holding down the “Volume Up” button and the power button. The so-called recovery menu is opened, with which you can reset the smartphone to the factory settings.
When you reset, all data will be deleted. If you have made a backup beforehand, you can restore it via iTunes or your PC, for example. If not, all data is lost.